Alumni Game Fun!

The LMU Alumni came back in force, with 26 alumni coming to the first annual Alumni game. In a fun, back and forth game, the two teams traded plenty of scoring and scoring opportunities. This was a great weekend to reconnect with some of the earliest faces from the Alumni team. In fact, at least one Alumni was present from every graduating class since 2008. This was also the weekend that the team accounced their inaugural LMU Ice Hockey Hall of Fame. This will be a yearly award given out to former players. The inaugural class has 6 names included. Four people were elected into the Founders group and 2 players into the Hall of Fame. Tom Lieb, the original founder of the team in 1930, Chris Miller, the player who refounded the team in 2006, Tyler Goeckner-Zoeller, who took the team from 2006 and grew it to present, and Al Tipon, the team’s advisor who was instrumental in the growth of the team from the beginning, were all elected into the Founders group. The two players who were elected into the Hall, were Phil Higgins (2008), the first team captain. And Jim McDonald (2013), the all time leading scorer for the Lions.