Awards Banquet

The team gathered this past Friday to celebrate the completion of another season and to celebrate the 4 graduating seniors. The annual 6 awards were also handed out, along with the continuation of the newest tradition, a roasting of the team. This year’s roast master was freshman goalie Will Sitzman, who had the room laughing the whole time. The “Most Improved” award, as voted by the team, went to the rookie Kevin Paynter, who ended up playing a vital role in the team. The coaches award was given to junior defenseman Evan Ng. The “Squid of the Year” award, given to the favorite rookie on the team, went to freshman James Andrews. The “Big Tip Award,” given to the player who exemplifies the LMU values on and off the ice, as chosen by the team facility advisor Al Tipon, went to graduate student Keith Lawton. The Most Valuable Player award, as voted by the team, went to Trevor Tracy. Tracy finished the regular season as the leading scorer in the nation, and put up the most goals in a single season all time for the Lions with 40. The “Old Man Miller” award, named after Chris Miller who worked tirelessly to start the team in 2006, went to team president and captain, Kyle Martins. The award is given to the person most valuable to the success of the team on and off the ice. A great night had by all, with lots of talk about next season. A schedule should be announced shortly for the 2016-17 season.